Whaddaya nuts?

I hadn’t had the experience of someone being outright rude to me in such a long time, I forgot what that sting feels like. It started to get easy for me to hear someone complain about being disrespected and me thinking (with some degree of smugness) “Hey. Let it go. Don’t let someone else’s crazy bring you down.” Then came this week!

A woman threatened to sue me. She has no grounds and I know her threat was her way of digesting her own mistake. That drama came on the heel of someone else telling me to “Shut up,” seasoned with several derogatory comments about my lack of intelligence and my “rediculous” belief system.

As the week wound down, someone very close to me told me she disagrees with what I wholeheartedly believe to be true. Of course she has that right! So does Ms. I’m-gonna-sue-your-ass and Mr. You’re-a-dumb-bell-non-believer.

There was a time when I’d have defended myself–even congratulated myself on my snappy come-backs.

I did not respond with anger this week. (My body did react, (Ouch.) but it’s on a slower track than the rest of me.) I will choose to accept what this week has given me—a lesson in humility, a window to remember what was compared with what is. And what growth still eludes me. Compassion, (for me and them) has nothing to do with being right or wrong and everything to do with love.

Thanks for listening.

12 thoughts on “

  1. KM Huber says:

    Thanks for telling us so we can see ourselves. I hear you about the body lagging a bit….
    Karen

    • deb reilly says:

      Thanks for the comment, Karen! I had an experience today that really got my attention. I met a young woman who’s life is so difficult, (through no fault of her own) yet she has patience, gratitude and hope. She didn’t blame anyone for her situation. And she has no idea what a rock star she is. Send her good thoughts, okay?

  2. Michael Ray King says:

    Awesome! I’m learning to no longer defend myself as well. Tough row to hoe but I e made great strides. Now that I’m not baited into the negativity, accusations of “avoiding issues” come at me. What I’m choosing is a win for both sides – a de-escalation and an opportunity for both to save face. Your post here is soooooo timely. I’m now trying to master that internal body reaction that stresses me. I agree, the body is not as quick to adapt…

    • deb reilly says:

      Mike, I agree that you are choosing a win for both. And even if it would be nice if “the other guy” knew your motivation, it’s really okay if they don’t, isn’t it!

  3. Anette says:

    The manner in which you dealt with each situation is commendable, Deb, and probably much healthier than a negative response to those ignorant people. You are a much stronger, wiser person than most of us!

    It is so good to read your post insightful post–it has been too long, my friend.

    Sent from my iPad

  4. Daniela says:

    Compassion has nothing to do with being right or wrong, that alone is the clearest and truest window in all that matters … it is also where your own strength comes from. Well Done!

    Daniela

  5. Chris says:

    Sounds like a whole week of self righteousness, people love to be right. But you went left and didn’t react, good work. The physical pain is all that energy they threw at you, but by not reacting, you got to keep it. Instead of expressing negativity, which is a way of throwing all that energy away, you get to use it like money. All these people sound like they are suffering, and your compassion is very wise. But remember the Mayan saying “In la’ kech” “I am another yourself.” You got some great photographs and gifts for your personal evolution. Love you, Chris

  6. Daniela says:

    I have just nominated you for ‘The Word Press Family Award’. If you choose to participate all the ‘rules and regulations’ are to be find here: http://wp.me/p2v1s2-Q5

  7. When it rains it sometimes lets out a full-throttle hail session. To me, your restraint is enviable, but I understand the body aches afterward.

Leave a Reply

