Unconditional

He made my heart skip. Even if it was just someone who looked like him, a flock of butterflies rose in my chest. Back then, I thought I really loved that guy.

Then came years of struggle. Plenty of good to make it all bearable. At least I thought so.

Then the dagger: Truth. And my martyr years.

Then later, justified, I sang my mantra, “He got what he deserved.”                           

And now the freedom years, gifted through giving. Forgiveness. Compassion.

Love gone full-circle, all the way to unconditional.

Delicious peace.

11 thoughts on “Unconditional

  1. Chris says:

    Love you Deb, but this one needs work!

  2. Cara says:

    So grateful for the freedom years.
    I really enjoyed this.

  3. KM Huber says:

    “Love gone full-circle, all the way to unconditional” more than works for me, especially within the context of the freedom years. My heart soars for you.

    Karen

  4. rogueme says:

    Hey Deb! I’m with KM Huber. This totally resonates with me. It is poetic. Of course, the poet in me appreciates this style of writing. The between the lines stuff is intriguing. Well done!

  5. This is beautiful – your peace is tangible.

  6. I’ve been there…except for the full circle part.
    In so few words, you express an entire range of emotions.

  7. rebecca says:

    That’s a large, difficult circle, but congratulations!

Leave a Reply

