Imagine.

Television news makes me want to hurl our Sanyo to the curb, so to keep our Netflix connection, and Cara’s Tuesday nights with the cast of Glee intact, I don’t listen to the chirping “At 11:00!” crowd. Instead, I look forward to seeing Time Magazine in the mailbox. But it’s the end of the semester crunch for this aging student; I didn’t open last week’s issue until this afternoon.

I usually start at the back, reading humorist Joel Stein first: Time’s version of David Sedaris. (He always puts me in an upbeat frame of mind.) Then I flip the pages before settling into something else. Today, a set of haunting images held my interest. Syrian refugees, their physical beauty obvious, their anguish captured by photographer Peter Hapak, will stay with me for a long time.

“There is a woman, my neighbor, who forgot one of her sons. He is still in Syria. We left in such a hurry. Can you imagine? She forgot one of her children.”  –Salwa, as told to Rania Abouzeid

No. I cannot imagine the terror that inspired a heartbreak so deep and permanent as that.

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Imagine.

  1. KM Huber says:

    Stunning post, Deb, stunning. Reading the quote, I can only realize how silly I am most of the time, never experiencing such constant pain. My, what an experience this physical plain is.

    Karen

  2. deb reilly says:

    Karen, you are lovely and wise, and certainly not silly. As compassionate and empathetic as we may be for the tragedies others experience, we can’t deny our own pain. And you’ve dealt with plenty. Thank you for the kindness.

  3. Jeff Swesky says:

    It’s easy to get lost in our own issues and problems (sometimes quite petty,) but they certainly pale in comparison to some of the horrific events that are going on in the world. It makes me realize that we don’t have it so bad. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

