Change the World, One Thought at a Time

Twenty-four hundred years ago Socrates said: “The unexamined life is not worth living.”

What have we learned since humanity was gifted with that wisdom? The more we rush through our days, too distracted to pause and examine our beliefs, the more dangerous this world becomes.

If we refuse to empathize, emptiness is our due.  

An unarmed young man was killed while walking home from the store, committing the crime of wearing a hoodie after dark.  

If one of us is targeted by prejudice, we all are.

Our children sleep in clean, warm beds while other parents, torn by war, grieve unimaginable loss.

If some of us are unsafe, we are all unsafe.

If I’ve got a ticket to heaven by virtue of my religion, while “non-believers” are sure to “burn in Hell for eternity,” what lie about God have I believed? If my God, my idea of Perfection, is capable of unspeakable cruelty, what am I capable of?

We are here to love and be loved, unconditionally, selflessly, now. There may not be another twenty-four hundred years left for us to get it right.

Tagged , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Change the World, One Thought at a Time

  1. rogueme says:

    “The unexamined life is not worth living.” What a great opening quote. For years I loved reading Socrates’ wisdom on many topics. Well written post. I love it! I’m so glad you chose writing!!! 🙂

  2. deb reilly says:

    Ditto, Mike. Your blog inspired this post!

  3. KM Huber says:

    It is hard to imagine life unexamined, isn’t it? It seems as if all it takes is one taste, even if it is bitter, for a life tasted is a life lived. How beautifully you demonstrate how we are all connected, how together we all bleed, we all love. I really like the way you write, Deb.

    Karen

    • deb reilly says:

      For years, I refused to look too closely, terrified of what I’d find. I wasn’t really living. When things began to change, (when I woke up) I was awe-struck. I wish I could say I never fall back into that drowsy-rote mentality. It happens. But thankfully it doesn’t last very long. You are so right about gratitude! It is the perfect medicine!

  4. Dee says:

    Hi Deb,
    Thank you for inviting me to the blog (3 months late to this party). I’m thrilled to know you’ve continued writing – and taken the chronological out of the mix!

    Life unexamined. Yeah, it’s hard to imagine, but I know those who choose to be unexamined. I keep them close. I feel they are the fragile amongst us. They know I am there for them. I leave pieces of energy with them. I wait.

    • deb reilly says:

      Dee! Coming home and seeing your comment was a gift! (I went to my email immediately.) Thank you for your generous, and kind words.

      I was one of those people who had no clue for a long time. And you’re right about the fragility–they need the most patience, and the most love.

      Again, so wonderful to hear from you!

  5. Dee says:

    Right back at ya, Deb. I do think you always had a clue. It took time to get through circumstances that weighed on you – but there was always that spark within, yes?

    I’m grateful to know you’re on the path I met you on – and the slight divergence a couple of years ago (was it then?) didn’t become a new road. I very much look forward to keeping up with your journey….

  6. Ayan Paul says:

    Test…………………..

Leave a Reply

